Please note that 2021 applications for awards have now closed. Check back later for updates.

About the Saitsa Awards

At Saitsa, we believe outstanding students and instructors should be rewarded for their dedication and hard work at SAIT, which is why we honour their commitment through awards.

Saitsa is committed to celebrating those who encompass and embrace the spirit of what it means to be a student of the SAIT and Saitsa communities. Our awards predominantly recognize students who demonstrate a commitment to improving the student experience at every opportunity through school spirit, student support, and advocacy. We also have awards for instructors and staff members.

Saitsa Awards Program

Policies & Procedures

Important Notice regarding Polices & Procedures: Saitsa has adapted its Awards for the 2020/2021 Academic Year; due to COVID-19 drastically impacting students ability to engage and participate in campus volunteer opportunities and events. Due to these circumstances, the awards deadline has been extended to March 31, 2021. (11:59pm deadline).

The following awards are the only awards that will be distributed this year:      

  • Keystone Awards (DC Fleming, JM Parker, Therese Murray, Marcel Carpenter)      
  • Club of the Year      
  • Instructor Excellence     
  • Athena     
  • Sentinel

All other awards have been suspended for the 2020/2021 Academic Year; the funds allocated to those awards will instead be distributed via an alternative initiative intended to support students. Please stay tuned for more information regarding this initiative over the next couple weeks. If you wish to apply for one of the awards listed above, please submit an application form by clicking on the award below.

Keystone & Student Experience Awards

DC Fleming Award 

$1,000 – 1 recipient/year

JM Parker Award 

$1,000 – 1 recipient/year

Therese Murray Award

$1,000 – 1 recipient/year

Marcel Carpenter Award

No monetary value –1 recipient/year

Club of the Year Award

$750 – 1 club/year

Instructor & Supporter Recognition Awards

Instructor Excellence Awards

No monetary value – 9 instructors/year

(1 instructor/school of study)

Sentinel Award

No monetary value – 1 department/year

Athena Award

1 instructor/year

Support Saitsa, Support our Sponsors:


Find Us

Saitsa Resource Centre 

MC107 Stan Grad

1301 – 16 Ave N.W. Calgary, AB T2M 0L4

The Gateway Restaurant & Bar

Monday – Friday

11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

V203 Campus Centre

1301 – 16 Ave N.W. Calgary, AB T2M 0L4

Odyssey Cafe

Monday – Friday

7:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m

V211 Campus Centre

1301 – 16 Ave N.W. Calgary, AB T2M 0L4

Station Market

Monday – Thursday

7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.


7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

NN120 Senator Burns Building

1301 – 16 Ave N.W. Calgary, AB T2M 0L4

Station Express

Monday – Thursday

7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.


7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

MB108 Stan Grad Building

1301 – 16 Ave N.W. Calgary, AB T2M 0L4

Health & Dental Process for Fall 2021

As of July 5, 2021; Saitsa will be accepting Health & Dental Opt-Out forms for the Fall 2021 semester. As soon as you are registered or begin self-registration for the Fall 2021 semester you are able to submit a Health & Dental Opt-Out form.

You have until July 26 to send your completed Health & Dental opt-out form to Saitsa for processing before the tuition fee deadline in order to receive Opt-Out credits before paying tuition fees. All other Health & Dental opt-outs processed after July 26 will follow SAIT’s refund policy where credit balances may be applied to future terms.

SAIT Refunds: Credit balances, for students who are registered or plan to register in a future term, will be carried forward and applied as appropriate to that future term.  Refundable balances will also be assessed at the end of the academic year for refunding. More info here.