

Meeting – November 4, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. Microsoft Teams Meeting



Present:

Akinjide Akinwale	Director	Voting Member
Fatima Bilal	Director	Voting Member
Arek Gellatly	Director	Voting Member
Tim Holowachuk	Director	Voting Member
Shawna LeBlanc	Director	Voting Member
Maclean Jarvis	Director	Voting Member
Tola Jimoh	Director	Voting Member
Krystal Nguyen	Director	Voting Member
Kelly Jeed Sawadan	Director	Voting Member
Dawson Thomas	Director	Voting Member
Ryan Morstad	Saitsa President	Voting Member
Liam Hunter	Vice President External	Voting Member
Jasmin Bhatti	Vice President Academic	Voting Member
Jessi Leippi	Vice President Student Life	Voting Member
Joy Bowen-Eyre	Neutral Facilitator	Non-Voting
Marc Stromme	Saitsa Executive Director	Non-Voting
Rachel Paris	Saitsa Manager, Governance & Advocacy	Non-Voting
Rio Valencerina	Saitsa Coordinator, Governance	Non-Voting

Regrets

Rigel Raju	Board of Governors Student Representative	Non-Voting

Agenda Item

1.0 Call to Order:

J. Bowen-Eyre called the meeting to order at 6:24 p.m.

2.0 Approval of the Agenda: Motion:

To approve the agenda.

L. Hunter. J. Leippi Motion Carries

Unanimous consent

3.0 Business Items:

3.1 Election of the Chair

The following individuals were nominated or self-nominated for the position of Board Chair:

• Tim Holowacuk



Meeting – November 4, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.

Microsoft Teams Meeting

Motion:

To allow candidates in the 2020-2021 Chair and Vice Chair selection process to be permitted to vote.

L. Hunter/K.J. Sawadan 13-0-0 Motion Carries

Motion:

BE IT RESOLVED that T. Holowachuk be appointed to the position of Chair of the 2020-2021 Board of Directors.

K.J. Sawadan/F. Bilal 13-0-1 Motion Carries

3.2 Election of the Vice Chair

The following individuals were nominated or self-nominated for the position of the Vice-Chair:

- Fatima Bilal
- Arek Gellatly
- Maclean Jarvis
- Shawna LeBlanc
- Kelly Jeed Sawadan
- Dawson Thomas

The nominees for Vice-Chair each gave a 2-minutes presentation to the Board of Directors. Each presentation was followed by a 7-minute question period. Topics covered in the question period included if the nominees feel they can assume the responsibilities of the Chair, how they will manage their relationship with the Executive Council, and their approach for filling vacancies or positions on the Board of Directors.

The nominees were asked to leave the room while the Board discussed the viability of the nominees for the Vice Chair.

Nominees were invited back into the room at 7:54 p.m. R. Paris explained the voting and election process to the Board. Ballots were collected electronically, and preferential voting was used to select the Vice Chair.

Motion:

BE IT RESOLVED that S. LeBlanc be appointed to the position of Vice Chair of the 2020-2021 Board of Directors.

T. Jimoh/L. Hunter 13-0-1 Motion Carries





Meeting – November 4, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. Microsoft Teams Meeting



Motion: To adjourn the meeting.



Motion Carries

The motion was approved by unanimous consent.

The meeting adjourned at 8:23 p.m.