# SAITCA

# **SAITSA Board of Directors**

Minutes – Monday, March 5, 2018 Chinook Lodge & Burns Penthouse - Senator Burns Building

#### Present:

Josh Bettle	BOD Chair	Voting Member
Jesse Corbel	BOD Vice Chair	Voting Member
Donny Nichols	Director	Voting Member
Matthew Busby	Director	Voting Member
Carol Poole	Director	Voting Member
Ninar Chaachouh	Director	Voting Member
Akhil Sharma	Director	Voting Member
Desiree Venne	Director	Voting Member
Jessica Beddow	Director	Voting Member
Ryan Morstad	Director	Voting Member
Daniel Caine	Director	Voting Member
Alex Dimopoulos	President	Voting Member
Rachel Moerschfelder	Vice President External	Voting Member
Alysson Torres - Gillett	Vice President Academic	Voting Member
Connor Goodfellow	Vice President Student Life	Voting Member
Tanya Pittis	Board of Governors Student Representative	Non-Voting
Joy Bowen-Eyre	Neutral Facilitator	Non-Voting
Rachel Paris	SAITSA Manager, Governance and Advocacy	Non-Voting
Adam Boechler	SAITSA Coordinator, Governance	Non-Voting

Regrets:

Ha Nguyen	Director	Voting Member
Hunter Mills	Director	Voting Member
Blair McCormick	Executive Director	Non-Voting

## **Guests:**

Mitchell Holt	Student at Large	Guest
Adrian Oida	Student at Large	Guest

## Agenda Item

## 1.0 Call to order:

J. Bowen-Eyre called the meeting to order at 6:20 PM.

# 2.0 Acknowledgement of Traditional Indigenous Territories:

## 2.1 Chinook Lodge presentation about importance of acknowledging territories:

L. Gauthier, Coordinator of the Chinook Lodge gives a presentation about reconciliation and leads the Board of Directors in a smudging ceremony.

# 2.2 Acknowledgement of Traditional Indigenous Territories:

J. Bettle gives the acknowledgement of traditional indigenous territories.

## 3.0 Conflict of Interest Check:

No conflicts noted.

# 4.0 Approval of the Agenda:

**Motion:** 

Move to approve the agenda with the following additions. Add items 10.6 Guatemala experience and 10.7 Smudging debrief, which moves the In Camera discussion to item 10.8.

C.Goodfellow Motion Carried

## 5.0 Adoption of Minutes:

5.1 Regular Meeting of the Board from February 5, 2018.

#### Motion:

Move to approve the BOD meeting minutes from the February 5, 2018 regular meeting.

C. Poole Motion Carried

## 6.0 Individual Reports:

Verbal reports were provided by A. Dimopoulos, R. Moerschfelder, A. Torres-Gillett, C. Goodfellow and T. Pittis. B. McCormick sent regrets and did not report. Written reports for others were circulated prior to the meeting.

## 7.0 Committee Reports:

- **7.1 Campus Life Committee C. Goodfellow** Verbally reported that the new programming board to focus on traditions, spirit events, charity and volunteerism. The next meeting is occurring March 6<sup>th</sup> at 4pm.
- **7.2** Finance Committee A. Dimopoulos Report as submitted, verbally updated that the next meeting will occur March 28th.
- 7.3 Governance Committee A. Torres-Gillett Report as submitted.
- **7.4** Advocacy Committee R. Moerschfelder No report submitted, verbally reported about the "Vent Event, Come Wine With Us."
- 7.5 Environmental Sustainability D. Davis (Chair of Committee) No report.
- 7.6 Student Expansion Committee Advisory Committee B. McCormick No report.
- **7.7 Strategic Plan Committee A. Torres-Gillett** Report as submitted, verbally reported that the Strategic Plan session with Watson was occurring Sunday March 11<sup>th</sup> in the Aldred building 4<sup>th</sup> floor.

## Motion:

Move to go in Camera at 7:57 PM.

A. Dimopolous Motion Carried

#### Motion

Move to go out of Camera at 8:08 PM.

A. Dimopoulos Motion Carried

#### 8.0 Action Items:

8.1 B. McCormick and A. Dimopoulos to provide BOD with PD funding options: Item is complete. Consulted with people attending the conference.

8.2 Fireside Chat feedback sent to Daniel Caine:

Item is complete. Daniel is meeting with Alex in relation to the fireside chat.

### 8.3 Board Bylaw feedback:

R. Paris reports to the board that feedback was received from two Directors in relation to the Bylaws.

#### 9.0 Business Items:

## 9.1 Committee Chair and Vice Chair Roles and Responsibilities:

#### Motion

Move to approve the Committee Chair and Vice Chair Roles and Responsibilities document.

A. Dimopoulos Motion Carried

## 9.2 BOG Student Representative Selection Committee member ratification:

#### Motion:

Move to ratify Alex Dimopoulos, Josh Bettle, Jesse Corbel, Jess Beddow, Mathew Busby and Connor Goodfellow to the Board of Governors Student Representative Selection Committee.

J. Bettle

#### Amendment:

Move to amend the proposed motion to remove Alex Dimopoulos and add President or designate.

A. Dimopoulos Amendment Carries Abstentions: R. Moerschfelder

#### Amended Motion:

Move to ratify the SAITSA President or designate, J. Corbel, J. Bettle, M. Busby, C. Goodfellow and J. Beddow to the Board of Governors Student Representative Selection Committee.

**Motion Carried** 

Abstentions: J. Corbel, J. Beddow, M. Busby, C. Goodfellow

#### 10.0 Information/Discussion:

- **10.1** Advocacy Plan: R. Moerschfelder gives a presentation on the Advocacy plan.
- **10.2** Bylaw Review update: R. Paris updates the Board of Directors on the progress of the Bylaw review.
- **10.3 Special Meeting for Bylaw readings:** R. Paris describes that Bylaws require three readings, as such, Bylaw changes will be brought forward to the April 9<sup>th</sup> regular meeting for the first and second reading, and a special meeting will be scheduled for April 16<sup>th</sup> for the final third reading.
- **10.4 Upcoming SAITSA events:** R. Paris will circulate to the Board of Directors.
- **10.5 EC Elections update:** A. Boechler updates the Board of Directors in relation to the EC elections.
- **10.6 Guatemala experience:** A. Sharma updates the Board of Directors on his experience building houses in Guatemala.
- **10.7 Smudging debrief:** Discussion about the Board of Directors experience with the smudging ceremony to begin the meeting.
- 10.8 In Camera:

## Motion:

Move to go in camera.

J. Bettle Motion Carried

## 11.0 Questions/Adjournment:

#### Motion:

Move to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 PM.

M. Busby Motion Carried