

SAITSA Board of Directors

Minutes – Monday, April 16th, 2018 – Special Meeting Burns Penthouse - Senator Burns Building

Present:

Josh Bettle	BOD Chair	Voting Member
Jesse Corbel	BOD Vice Chair	Voting Member
Matthew Busby	Director	Voting Member
Carol Poole	Director	Voting Member
Ninar Chaachouh	Director	Voting Member
Akhil Sharma	Director	Voting Member
Jessica Beddow	Director	Voting Member
Desiree Venne	Director	Voting Member
Ryan Morstad	Director	Voting Member
Daniel Caine	Director	Voting Member
Alex Dimopoulos	President	Voting Member
Alysson Torres - Gillett	Vice President Academic	Voting Member
Connor Goodfellow	Vice President Student Life	Voting Member
Tanya Pittis	Board of Governors Student Representative	Non-Voting
Joy Bowen-Eyre	Neutral Facilitator	Non-Voting
Blair McCormick	Executive Director	Non-Voting
Rachel Paris	SAITSA Manager, Governance and Advocacy	Non-Voting

Conferenced In:

Rachel Moerschfelder Vice President External Voting Member
--

Regrets:

Donny Nichols	Director	Voting Member
Ha Nguyen	Director	Voting Member
Hunter Mills	Director	Voting Member
Adam Boechler	SAITSA Coordinator, Governance	Non-Voting

Guests:

Mitch Holt	Student at Large	Guest
Jessica Powell	Coordinator, Policy	Guest Speaker

Agenda Item

1.0 Call to order:

J. Bowen-Eyre called the meeting to order at 6:16PM.

2.0 Acknowledgement of Traditional Indigenous Territories:

- N. Chaachouh gave the acknowledgement of Traditional Indigenous Territories.
- 3.0 Conflict of Interest Check:

No conflicts noted.

4.0 Approval of the Agenda:

Motion: Move to approve the agenda.

5.0 Business Item:

5.1 Bylaw Motions 3rd Reading

Motion:

Move to strike Bylaw 4.2: "The Board cannot make changes or amendments to these Bylaws between May and September."

Move to strike Bylaw 7.10.3: "Quorum for the Board will be reduced to six voting members from May to September."

Move to amend Bylaw 16.1: "Quorum at any regular meeting of the Board will be three quarters of voting members. With the exception of meetings held between May and September, whereby Quorum will be six (6) voting members," to read: "Quorum at any regular meeting of the Board will be three quarters of voting members."

Move to approve the 3rd reading of the bylaw amendments.

A. Torres-Gillett Opposed / J. Corbel Motion Carried

J. Powell read the changes into record.

- The striking of Bylaw 4.2
- The striking of Bylaw 7.10.3
- Approved amendments to Bylaw 16.1

Upon the motion being carried, the Bylaws' Master Copy will be updated by staff as soon as possible and will reflect the approved changes.

6.0 Questions/Adjournment

Motion:

Move to adjourn the meeting at 6:20 PM.

J. Beddow Motion Carried

BOD Chair

Approved Date:

BOD Vice-Chair